Outdoor Links You’ll Like – August 14

Posted: August 14, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Today’s “Outdoor Links You’ll Like” is a grab bag for travel enthusiasts, cyclists, hunters as well as everyday adventurers.

Gear
Let’s start with gear. Recently at the Outdoor Retailer Summer Market show in Salt Lake City, Outside Magazine’s Katie Arnold (aka @raisingrippers) posted about The Best New Gear for Active Families. That climbing harness for newborns is a bit early to start them. Even CragMama (@cragmama) might agree.

Hunting
I haven’t hunted since I was a teenager. Don’t get me wrong. I love to shoot, I love to track, and I love to eat. I just fall asleep when I sit still that long. Congrats to this guy who won a dream trip to Idaho to hunt bighorn sheep.

Cycling
Bicycling is the sport I loved as a kid. Riding your bike was the first taste of freedom.

This is a gathering of Troy’s supporters at the finish line after his California to Virginia ride back in 2010.

When I was 12 or 13 my best friend raced road bikes. He was out one day on the road and got hit, putting him in a coma for a month. That’s when my desire to ride was squelched. But, if you are going to do it. Go big, right?

Troy Love is awesome guy (believer, cool dad, cop and former Marine) who rode his bike across the country two years ago and then up the East Coast earlier
this summer to raise money for audio Bibles for the poor and illiterate. Support his cause at PedalingForProclaimers.com.

Here’s another story about cycling along Route 66. I love all the talk about New Mexico in this piece.

Outdoor Family Adventure
How and Why to Get Your Kids Outside – guest post on Tales of a Mountain Mama (@mtnmamatales).

Travel
Top 10 Strangest Places on Earth. God’s imagination never ceases to inspire and “wow” me.

Leave a Reply

