Hooked on your hobby – Authentic Manhood – Part 2

Posted: August 23, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I was scared hanging 40-feet up on an overhanging granite wall by my fingertips and tiptoes. I knew my belayer had me if I fell, but I was scared, tired and ready to quit.

I yelled, “Let me down; I’m done.”

His reply was the inspiration I needed, “Are you sure?”

I pushed through the mental and physical challenges to top out on that route, and it was at that moment I knew I was hooked on rock climbing.

Hooked on a hobby. Again.

See, I’ve had so many hobbies that recently I realized my hobby is collecting hobbies.

Like all experts, I started collecting hobbies when I was young, baseball, then bike riding, then video games, then skateboarding, then girls, then the Marine Corps, then SCUBA diving, then journalism, then world travel, then girls, then backpacking, then survival, then girls, then the Army, then college, then my wife, then Jesus, then non-Christians, then missions, then contentment, then Jesus again, then rafting, then backpacking, then gardening, then skiing, then…

I realized that my hobbies had dictated the direction of my life. I’m thankful for where I’m at today, a great wife of 10 years, two incredible kids, an amazing place to serve, guys that exemplify friendship and a real, practical and personal relationship with God.

I wouldn’t have gotten here if I had kept on with those trivial pursuits. My life would’ve been much different and much less meaningful. There are times when love of self and hobbies almost took away the best blessings I’ve known.

What passions drive you? What road will your pursuits lead you down? Not only do these passions propel you down the road of life, they also set the expectations that others will have for you.

I began to ask myself, “What traits must authentic, world-changing men have?”

The first is passion.

I say authentic men must have a passion for living. I’m talking real passion, not just lust, greed, or some burning selfish desire. They must have a passion for living a meaningful life. Passion for a life well-lived, full of substantial, intentional and lasting good.

What really sets your heart on fire? Is it something damaging or harmful? Is it something that will enrich your life and the lives around you?

There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death. (Proverbs 14)

It’s not too late to make a change in your passions.

I read about a man with real passion. King David, one of the most famous, successful kings in Middle Eastern history, was a man after God’s own heart. He worshipped His maker, His Savior, His protector and His anchor. He was zealous to please God.

Yeah, he slipped up with a hottie named Bathsheba (the wife of another man who was off to war who was later murdered), but David came back to his passion, knowing, serving and worshipping God.

We can learn from this leader’s example by coming back to God and giving up those old, destructive patterns, admitting our need for Him. David did, and he lived a meaningful, significant, world-changing life.

Read the song David wrote in Psalms 51. David was really sorry because he knew this grieved the one was most passionate about, God.

Get passionate today. Get passionate about finding out if God exists and knowing Him in a real way, not some TV evangelist way. Get passionate about surrendering that “thing” to God. Get passionate about His Word. Get passionate today.

Leave a Reply

