Outdoor Links You’ll Like – Sept 25

Posted: September 25, 2012 in Gear, Outdoor, Video
Tags: , , , , , ,

Fall is finally here!

It’s time to log some miles on the trails. Wildlife is stirring, storing for the winter. Many birds are migrating. Snow is falling in the high country and the foliage is changing.

Backpacking or hiking in the cooler temps is my favorite (next to smiling, of course).

When asked about why I love to hike, I often respond “the views.”

The physical challenge is bleh and the conquering drive to join some “14-er” club is just not in me. I like to look out and see the scope of the world I live in. I like to soak in the warm, fall sun and not get in a hurry. I like to see how small I am in comparison to the rest of God’s creation. And, if it’s going to be a butt-kicking hike, I enjoy training so that I’m not dead when I get to the lookout.

One of those places I want to enjoy before dying is the John Muir Trail or JMT. Here’s a trailer from a JMT documentary in progress, appropriately called, The Muir Project.

Speaking of great scenery. What a spectacular view in Grand Teton National Park in this shot!

Sneak peak at an ultralight backpack from Gear Junkie.

REI is always a helpful source. Here’s an infographic about scenic U.S. trails and the “10 Essentials.”

Hiking the Beautiful USA: US National Scenic Trails Map

Looking for some advice on getting started hiking or backpacking?

Try Backpacking 101: Wilderness Class with Andrew Skurka

Here’s also a good resource to consider…

 

Leave a Reply

